stepping stones

I have been reading blogs. So many out there write so well and are so moving. I wish I could do that. Ah well, this is for me anyway I suppose. My daughters and I attend a bereavment support group called Stepping Stones. It has been a godsend to my children and, it turns out, to me as well. The woman who married my ex husband committed suicide last summer…July 28th. To say it traumatized my girls would be an understatement. Add to that my dad passing last month and we are a messed up bunch. Anyway, tonight was the last night as we break for summer. Amazing. We will begin again in the fall after school starts. The people that facilitate this group are phenomenal. It’s good for me too. Who knew? Another good thing today. I had to go to the doctor. Ok, that’s not so good but my doctor is amazing. I have known her for 19 years. Absolutely astounding when I think about it. She opened the door to the exam room and had this huge smile on her face! She says in her most perky voice “It’s so good to see you!” Now you tell me, how many people have doctors that do that? I just love this woman. She said “You have a daughter who’s 18 or 19 now right?” Of course I said “Yes” and we got to talking about graduation and college etc. This woman helped me deliver all my babies so it’s been a long time we’ve known each other. After my exam (yes, I have a bad infection) was finished I was saying how amazing my daughters are and she hugged me and said “That means you are too.” If she could know how much that meant to me today it would be awesome. You know how sometimes you just hear one thing and it totally changes your day? Today I had that twice. From the Stepping Stones facilitator and from my doctor. I’m writing all this down so when I get discouraged again (and I know that will happen) I can look back and remember. I am so blessed. Even in the midst of all the turmoil I am so grateful to be reminded of that today. Peace.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Well, write this down too, because I think you are pretty awesome too!

    Reply

  2. Your doctor was right..you are an amazing woman..and don’t forget it!
    ((((Traci)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

