life goes on

I have returned from delivering my first born to college. What a surreal experience! I want to go to college and live in a dorm. By the time my life is in a place where that can happen, I will be closer to 50 than 40 but I figure I could be the mom/granny in residence perhaps. Who knows what will happen eh?

My girlie didn’t sleep too well the night before move-in day. She tossed and turned all night long in our motel room bed. Her nerves got the better of her, I think, even if she didn’t want to admit it! When we’d gotten everything unpacked and put away in her new home and had lunch and I was ready to leave, I did start to cry (dammit!). Not much…but still. My baby girl looked at me and said “If you do that, I’m going to cry too…so STOP IT!” She was looking pretty weepy. I told her over and over how proud of her I am and that I loved her so much and that this was a dream come true for me and then I said “This is it babe.” I cried all the way down to my car and out of town. When I hit the city limits, I got a grip and immediately GOT LOST!

My name is Traci and I am directionally challenged.

I think it’s hereditary. I’ve gotten better over the last 20 years but, when overwhelmed, my hard learned ability to get around on my own without clear directions falls right into the proverbial toilet. To say I was overwhelmed would be an understatement so you can imagine just how lost I managed to get. Lets just say that it added two extra hours to my trip home and leave it at that shall we?! LOL

Now, I have a confession to make. I have been reading my daughter’s blog. The best advice I can give anybody about this kind of thing is the same advice I’ve gotten and given over the past year or so. NEVER, EVER DO THIS! In my defense (yes, I feel guilty), this is my baby who is at college for the first time and I was worried! I just wanted to know she was ok…so I peeked. Her first night she felt so alone and missed home and her friends. The second night she did better and I felt better. The third night she had no entry and I can only assume (hopefully correctly) that she is busy and having a good time too. Thank God! This is my worrisome child too. I’m totally freaked out that her behavior is going to get her into trouble and I will not be able to “bail her out” because I have already told her I won’t. It’s a learning thing to be sure…for both of us I’m discovering. Two other things I discovered are that her boyfriend is 26 YEARS OLD! (Holy crap, I about swallowed my tongue! I’ve never met the guy but had been hearing about him before we left for college.) And…I also learned that I am my daughter’s hero. I am stunned. I cried. (no duh) So, now I’m done reading my girl’s blog. I know enough to know she’s ok and I feel better. When she comes home for Thanksgiving, I’ll even tell her I read it for the first few days. She probably won’t even care. But I care. ‘Nuff said.

Now, a bit about the things going on in the world around us. Katrina is devastation like we’ve never seen before in our country. Our president is not now, nor will he ever be, my choice. I truly believe he is an incompetent good ol’ boy who doesn’t give a rat’s ass about anyone but himself and his family’s hoity toity rich friends. I believe that with the technology we possess in this day and age it is improbable not to mention impossible that we wouldn’t have found Osama Bin Laden by now. I believe that every other word out of our government’s collective mouth is a lie. I believe the government and all it’s agencies have totally fucked up the Katrina relief efforts. I believe that all those in New Orleans who have died from the levies breaking have died needlessly and because of our government’s incompetence and negligent failure to shore up those levies. I do NOT blame George Bush for all of this. He is just another mouthpiece in a long line of mouthpieces who really has no control or power other than to speak around the foot he has in his mouth most of the time. He is a figure head in my opinion…the same as every other president we’ve ever had. All that said, I am grateful there are so many “regular” folks lending assistance to all affected by this devastation. I’m grateful this country is full of people who believe in taking care of their own and by “own” I mean fellow countrymen and citizens. I believe that if the world was more like these “regular” folks, it would be a much better place for all of us. Now, I’m getting down off my soapbox and thanking whatever higher power there is in the universe that today my family is safe and healthy and dry and full and smiling and loved.

Peace.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I can understand your curiosity. My brother and I mutually agreed to block each other from our LiveJournals after we had arguments over stuff in each other’s blogs–it just wasn’t worth it. But we were dying to read it anyway! And our mom just doesn’t know our addresses. šŸ™‚

    I hope Erica’s doing great–it sounds like she’s off to a good start, 26-year-old boyfriend or not.

    And she has great taste in role models. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. How bittersweet… to watch your daughter move onward and upward… such pride.

    I dropped by because I like your name… its the same as mine, but shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh that’s a secret. Not only that, we spell it the same.

    Reply

  3. Glad to have you home. I can only imagine how surreal it would be to drop my child off at college or for her to actually have a blog that I could read! Man the thins I have to look forward to!

    Hugs

    Julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

