life

I have been AWOL. I’m not quite sure why I’ve been so overwhelmed by life recently. That said, I am, indeed, overwhelmed by life lately. : ) I’ve heard that grief goes in stages and through past experience I understood that…theoretically.

I cry over everything right now. I am ready for Christmas to be done. I absolutely ADORE Christmas. Just not this year. Very weird. I have had periods of time when I go to sleep exhausted and wake up exhausted. I am currently going through a period where I feel exhausted however sleep evades me…at least for extended lengths of time. I wake up with that scratchy feeling in my eyes…you know the one you get when you haven’t slept enough…but my mind turns on and it’s all over, so I get up. *sigh*

Ok, enough already. In spite of depression and grief work, there is much to be grateful for. And there are times when I feel a sense of peace… it’s brief but it’s there and gives me hope that this difficult time will soon give way to brighter days. So, this morning I am grateful:

for my beautiful daughters. My college girl is home and after a little “come to Jesus” meeting upon her arrival, it has been a true joy to have her here. She is, however, ready to go back to school and freedom!

for Christmas music.

for Christmas Vacation…oh yea, I know the politically correct thing to call it is Winter Break but I’m not very PC so too bad!

for making it through our family Christmas party with minimal scarring! It does often bring up things I’d rather not think about though.

for being mostly done with shopping. My girlies need to do theirs today.

for having a roof over my head, food in my fridge (sort of…the grocery store is calling me!), and heat to fight off the chill of winter. I am blessed.

for the beautiful candlelighting ceremony at Stepping Stones last night.

for good books, this computer, friends and my dogs.

I am off to play a bit and get ready to take my daughters shopping. Merry Christmas to each of you. My wish for all of you this year and next is what I pray/wish for every single day:

Peace.
5 responses to this post.

  1. Peace to you dear friend. Sweet peace.

    Loving you,
    Lighty

    Reply

  2. I wish you much love, peace and all good things for 2006..
    Hugs to you-
    Lea

    Reply

  3. Merry Christmas, my friend. May the new year bring you joy, peace, love, friendship, good health, good fortune and blessings beyond measure.

    Reply

  4. Merry Christmas and Peace to you.

    Reply

  5. Sorry things are so tough right now for you. i do hope you have a better year next year. Feeling the way you do and still counting your blessings shows your big heart. You take care and hang in there.
    Peace to you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

