another new year

So here we are…2006.

Absolutely, mind bogglingly stunning.

I remember when I was pregnant with daughter # 2 and the doctor gave me my due date… she and I laughed because 1990 sounded so futuristic to us. Now daughter #2 will be 16 in only 4 days.

I’ve read alot of blogs today. It’s interesting to see how others mark the new year. Some make resolutions, others recap events. Me? When I look back on 2005 I will remember two things:

My dad died.

My daughter graduated and left for college.

The highest of highs and the lowest of lows. A year of extremes. Life changes all. I’ve learned so much and most of it I learned under protest.

I’ve made some wonderful friends and lost several who were extremely dear to me. To write those words still brings tears too.

I hope I’ve gained some wisdom through it all. I try to live my life in a way that will make my daughters proud to call me Mom. I hope I succeed.

Here’s to 2006. It’s a safe bet that this year will hold good things and bad things and a whole lot of things that fall between those extremes.

I have no resolutions, no great list of things to accomplish; I simply wish to live wisely, learn all I can, treasure my loved ones and open my heart to any and all possibilities.

Peace.

8 responses to this post.

  1. The past year held a lot of changes. Like you said the highest of highs and the lowest of lows. I wish you love, joy and all things wonderful this year.

    Peace,
    Deb

    Reply

  2. The times they are a changin’. And that’s a good thing, right? 🙂

    Reply

  3. “I simply wish to live wisely, learn all I can, treasure my loved ones and open my heart to any and all possibilities.”

    excellent idea…i shall follow your lead…

    peace…

    Reply

  4. The past year held many changes for everyone. It is always so hard to lose our loved ones.

    Take care and may 2006 by a happy and healthy one with only positive changes in your life.

    Mary

    Reply

  5. You said:

    “I have no resolutions, no great list of things to accomplish; I simply wish to live wisely, learn all I can, treasure my loved ones and open my heart to any and all possibilities.”

    Sounds like a great list of things to accomplish to me. We should all try to do exactly those things.

    Happy New Year to you, my friend.

    Reply

  6. I hope you have a calmer, saner, and overall happier 2006! *hug*

    Reply

  7. Sounds like 2005 was a crazy year. Hope 2006 can bring some peace. And I must agree with Jaded (which I do often) and say that it sounds very much like you have made some wonderful, delightful and important resolutions that we could all draw from. Hey, if candles and tea can be resolutions, living, learning, loving and being open certainly count!

    Reply

  8. I haven’t read enough of your blog to know anything about your relationship with your dad…just this post where you reveal that he died last year – and I feel sad for you that you went through this. I just lost my dad too…for me it has been the most difficult, savage journey of my life…yet healing continues, and every day is new…I hope you are finding peace and support through this sad time.–>

    Reply

Leave a Reply

