today

we buried my mother. The service was lovely, the honor guard was amazing and after the cemetery we all went out to dinner with family that came from all over the country. I kept expecting my mom to come in at any moment…like she was returning from the bathroom or something.

I did alright during the service and fellowship afterwards. I did manage to talk with every single person who came. I’m so glad I did that. It made it a bit easier to be there. My one shaky moment came when the veteran from the honor guard presented me with my mom’s flag and brass after the 21 gun salute.

I’m sure I’ll have more to write about this during the coming days however tonight I am going to leave it at this and go back upstairs and smell the lovely flowers. There will be other days for the writing and the processing and the thinking and remembering and crying and the healing.

Tonight I simply want to smell the flowers.

Peace.

8 responses to this post.

  1. My prayers remain with you, my friend. Your strength is inspiring, and a real tribute to your mom.

    Keep smelling the flowers.

    Reply

  2. {{{{{Thoughts~prayers~hugs}}}}}

    Reply

  3. Enjoy your beautiful blooms.. I happen to think smelling some lovely flowers has restorative powers.

    Hugs to you…

    Reply

  4. The sweet smell of flowers. My thoughts and prayers are with you my friend. Now and forever.

    Loving you,
    Lighty

    Reply

  5. Traci,
    I remember the familiar smells were so helpful and healing. Take care of yourself and allow yourself to grieve in whatever manner you need to, cry when you want, and laugh when you can.
    Thinking of you!
    Jennifer

    Reply

  6. I hope all those memories help
    sustain you Traci. I know that’s
    something that helps me.

    Happy Valentines Day.

    Nikki

    Reply

  7. I’m just checking in to see how you’re doing.

    Reply

  8. I think of you every single day.

    *hugs*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

