and so it begins

My birthday week…yes, ladies and gentlemen, you heard it right…I have a birthday week.  😉

How did this wonderousness (is that even a word?) occur you ask?  Come on, work with me here, you did ask right?

For as long as I can remember, whenever the 4th of July arrived, so would my mom’s story about when I was born.  It seems that she and her family went to “the fort” every year to watch fireworks.  The year in question was just like the ones that came before except for one tiny (or should I say HUGE?) detail…my mother was gi-hugically pregnant with me.  She was so huge that I spent most of my childhood hearing about how she was absolutely certain I was twins.  🙂 

So anyway, upon returning home from the fireworks display, my mom climbed into bed and promptly discovered she was laying in a puddle.  Yes, friends, the proverbial dam had broken and the “twins” were on their way!

Mom labored for an entire day in the military hospital where I was born.  Finally at a few minutes after midnight, I made my appearance.  I’m betting my mother was glad I wasn’t twins by this time! <snicker>

Now, when the fireworks start, I tell my family it is the official beginning of my birthday because…well…because it was the official beginning of my birthday all those years ago!  And now that I’m the mommy, I can have my birthday any way I want it right?!!! 

I’ve given up trying to be patriotic for this holiday because it is still, after all this time, my birthday dammit!  So, if you showed up here for patriotism today, let me direct you to someone who does it beautifully.  My sweet friend, Susie, has written an inspiring 4th of July post.  Check her out.

Have a lovely 4th one and all.  As you’re safely enjoying your fireworks and bar-b-ques and families, take a moment to remember what it took to make us free and all those who lay it on the line every day to keep us that way.

Peace.

8 responses to this post.

  1. And the happiest of birthdays my special friend. You are never far from my mind and my heart.

    Star spangled day!
    Lighty

    Reply

  2. Hee! Happy Birth-week!! And since I won’t be up at just after midnight to wish you the day itself at the correct time, I’ll say Happy Birth-DAY now for tomorrow. I love that we’re the twins your mom didn’t have, sandwiching the 4th like spectacular fireworks!!!

    Reply

  3. Celebrate!!! It’s today!!!!

    Reply

  4. Happy birth-week, sweetie. May this be a wonderful year, with only good surprises for you 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by The Boston Pobble on Friday, July 7, 2006 at 7:40 am

    YAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The Goddess danced the day you were born. I *know* this.

    Reply

  6. Happy Birthday WEEK!

    Reply

  7. Posted by scribbleandscribe on Friday, July 7, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    well another summer birthday baby. I hope it is a wonderful week for you.

    Reply

  8. Happy Birthday! I’m quite convinced that you totally deserve fireworks on your special day too 🙂

    Hugs

    Julie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

