hell and handbaskets

Am I the only person in this country who wants to hear about more than Britney and Anna Nicole Smith? WTF is going on with the news people here in the good ol’ US of A???

For god’s sake, people, hello?!!! We have thousands upon thousands of military personnel in harms way, fighting an illegal war, coming home in body bags or missing body parts and the best you can do is tell me about Britney taking an umbrella to folks in anger?

First of all, I say Good For Britney. Leave her the hell alone. She’s breaking up or down (either way it sucks and has to be scary for her), has cameras in her freakin’ face 24/7, can’t have a moments peace and you are driving her to the edge. She is what, 24 or 25 years old? Good god, give the girl a break. Who hasn’t gone through some difficult times in their life? Would you want everyone in the world to know if you screwed up or embarrassed yourself? I’m sure your mothers are quite proud of what you do for a living. (yea, go ahead, insert sarcasm)

As for Anna Nicole, that girl was a tragedy waiting to happen. We all know that. That said, I do not want to know who gets to bury her, what happens to her child or which of any number of men fathered her baby. I don’t want to hear if she was passed out, drugged up, murdered, sick or sleeping with every single man from here to kingdom come. Whatever new thing you think you are uncovering or rehashing ad nauseum, stop it! She is/was one woman. She has/had a story just like everyone else. Her story is not a matter of national security. As a matter of fact, her story, Britney’s story and any of a host of stories you can find by clicking on any of the  news pages online (try abc, cnn and msnbc) are in my opinion just alot of spin, distraction and well, let me be frank…crap.

There is so much I could say or write about this subject. I’m not going to. I don’t want to get too political. I didn’t begin this blog for that. This is the place I come to write about whatever is going on with me at the moment…to work things out in my head, to get whatever’s in my head out of it for a little while. I’m not out to solve the world’s problems, I can barely solve my own. I would simply like a bit of reason behind what our media attempts to spoon feed us on a daily basis.

So, I’ve made some choices. I do not read american news anymore. I get my news from foreign sources. I don’t watch american newscasts anymore either. If I watch any news, I watch when my husband watches BBC. I occasionally check out american news to see if it’s changed yet and most often, it is simply worse. I don’t believe one single word that comes out of the mouth of any politician, no matter their country of origin. My feeling is that if they’ve gotten far enough in the political arena to be considered newsworthy, they are too far up the power pole to be a reliable source of information or truth. They have an agenda, they have friends, constituents, lobbyists and yada, yada, blah, blah, blah…

The short and sweet of it is this: I don’t believe the standard party line about 9/11 or terrorism or this war or who’s good and who’s bad or whatever the latest and greatest crisis is that’s being touted by those “in the know”. I believe in compassion and empathy, kindness and consideration, the golden rule and making my little corner of the world a better place if at all possible.

Peace.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Couldn’t have said it better.

    Reply

  2. Posted by scribbleandscribe on Saturday, February 24, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    I’m right there with you sweetie.
    I am over all of it too.
    Hope you are doing fine.
    Thanks for the wise words.
    Love ya
    Annie

    Reply

  3. I hear you, Traci. I have felt this way about news for quite a while. It can be upsetting and even sometimes depressing. I don’t think it’s good for people to watch too much news.

    Reply

  4. Posted by willboase on Sunday, March 4, 2007 at 7:36 pm

    100% with you, well said

    Reply

  5. Oversensationalized. For crap’s sake, we now watch “reality television” because true reality is too boring. Gah. This post is dead-on the money, Traci.

    Reply

  6. Posted by The Boston Pobble on Monday, March 5, 2007 at 11:43 am

    THANK YOU!

    Reply

  7. It’s distraction television, and it sells. How cynical we have become!

    (Traci, thank you for your very kind comments – deeply appreciated.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

