can I just say

Looking for a new therapist completely and totally sucks big time?

First, there’s the referrals. I appreciate them a great deal and have gotten several.

Then there’s the phone calls.

And then checking with my insurance company to see if this person is covered under my plan.

On top of all that, there’s the grief. Real, honest-to-god grief over the loss of my relationship with my ‘old’ therapist.

Have I mentioned this sucks?

*sigh*

8 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, Traci. I understand the grief. I’m so sorry, honey. I know it hurts. You are doing such a good job. You are. You know where I am if you need me.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Boston Pobble on Thursday, July 26, 2007 at 8:42 am

    It *does* suck. Just last night, I was talking with Lithus about how much easier it is to find a bad therapist than it is to find a good one. Hope you find a good one!

    Reply

  3. Sending perseverence, patience, peace… oh, and hugs and smiles, too. And maybe a good ol’ fashioned belly laugh or two as well. Hang in there, whomever you choose will have something to add to your journey.

    Reply

  4. I hope the search ends well and soon! But it’s worth taking your time, I think. I had to go by trial and error (mostly error) in NYC for a while myself; it was no fun at *all*. I sympathize completely.

    Reply

  5. Well, yes, that has to be a lot harder than trying to find the right shade of lipstick when they discontinued your old one.

    Keep plugging away, and keep asking around. Sometimes word-of-mouth is the best reference.

    In the meantime… lots of hugs.

    Reply

  6. Good luck finding someone you can trust.

    Reply

  7. Traci, please go check my blog. I nominated you for an award. It’s a good thing! 🙂

    Reply

  8. There is the grief. Good therapists are out there. I admit, there are way more bad than good, but you have a good gut; you’ll know when you find a good one.
    And, in the mean time, today is National Milk Chocolate Day. Honest, I heard it on the news. I am unprepared for it, but I will be doing some celebrating before the day’s over.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

