tagged again

I have been tagged by Lynilu. There are some rules. I was going to list them as such but decided that I really don’t like rules that much as there isn’t enough room for individuality in them. I’m gonna call them ‘suggestions’ since that makes me feel better and it’s my blog so I can! Heehee…Without further ado, the suggestions for this meme (what on earth does that word mean anyway?):

Share 5 random and/or weird facts about yourself on your blog.
Share the 5 top places on your “want to see or want to see again” list.
Tag a minimum of 5, maximum of 10 random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.
Lyn didn’t like the ‘rules’ either so here is her alternate for the list suggested:

Five things that I never pictured being in my future when I was 25 years old. (I like this one so I’m using it instead of the ‘weird’ because let’s face it, weird I can do hands free and I already write about enough of it!)

1. I never pictured myself divorced. As a matter of fact, I’d planned in my head to have a big wedding when we celebrated our 15th anniversary. As one of Jehovah’s Witnesses, divorce was discouraged in the extreme and it never entered my mind that I might end up divorced. Although I’d be lying if I said I never thought about it.

2. I never pictured leaving ‘the truth’ when I was 25. I was on the “fringes” for a long time according to those in charge but I was terrified of displeasing Jehovah and, in effect, killing my children. It was one thing for me to die everlastingly, but my babies? No freaking way.

3. When I turned 25, I had two children. One of them was almost 4 and the other was 6 months old. My husband was a long haul truck driver and I was home by myself alot of the time. It was harder than I imagined it would be however it was the first time in my life that I felt like I could manage if I had to on my own. I never imagined feeling like I could ‘do’ what needed to be done until then.

4. By the time I was 26 years old, my husband had spent 6 months in and out of the psych ward of our local hospital. I’d never imagined living with someone who was bi-polar. Hell, I didn’t even know what it was for a long time. His descent, finally, into the world of hospitalization and meds and psychiatry opened up doors that terrified me. I had no way of knowing that one day the experiences I lived through with him would lead down avenues I never in a million years expected.

5. At 25, I never imagined that my brother, sister and parents would all be gone thanks to cancer by the time I was 40.

Wow. That was kind of a downer. Maybe once I realized what was going on in my world when I was 25 I should have done the 5 random weird things about me but hell, I think these all qualify as weird things about me too so I guess I got ’em both covered.

Now, 5 places I’d like to see or see again:

1. Scotland. My heritage is Scottish and somewhere in my family’s history, a castle was awarded them by some king for loyalty. I’d like to see it someday.

2. Auschwitz. I’m not sure why but this part of history facinates me. Not because I’m interested in seeing entire races desecrated but rather because man’s inhumanity to man is legendary and I believe there is much to learn from it. Not from those who perpetrated the atrocities so much but rather those who survived them. The strength of humanity touches me so deeply.

3. Austria. I have been entranced with the land of the Sound of Music since I was a small girl. Incidentally, both my Art School daughters were cast in the school’s spring show production of the Sound of Music today! Small parts (for which I am grateful) but parts nonetheless.

4. South Carolina. I spent a summer in South Carolina the summer before my senior year. While it was hot and humid and I was staying with a ‘Witness” family, I fell in love with the south during that summer. It was beautiful and I’ve always wanted to go back.

5. Several eastern states where large parts of this country’s early history occurred. I want to visit Washington D.C., Virginia and Pennsylvania, to name a few. I’d love to see Boston, the leaves in New Hampshire, Amish country and so much more. I’m quite sure I could spend the rest of my life traveling this country of ours and be perfectly happy to do so.

Ok, now I’m s’posed to tag other people but I think that if you feel like doing it, do it. If you do not…that’s ok too. Onward and upward.

Peace. 

5 responses to this post.

  1. WOw, so much I learned about you and your life.

    Reply

  2. I know what you feel since a had a girlfriend bi-polar.Jehovah understands us.I am trying to be part of the JW Organization again since she caused a lot of troble to me.

    Reply

  3. A “downer”? Perhaps, but I look at it as the measurements of your strength and ability to survive. You’ve learned, not to simply cope, but to overcome, to succeed.

    Every time I read something you write about your life process, my admiration for you grows.

    Reply

  4. Dude. You’ve been through alot, yet have come back stronger. Good for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

