Archive for July 22nd, 2005

hmmmm

During the past few days or so I’ve been blessed to blog with some people who believe very strongly that their way…and only their way…is right. I find it interesting that so many feel so completely positive they know all the answers. I cannot imagine that for even a moment. I think it must be either very comforting or very stress inducing. Whatever. I am so far past the concept that I must be right about everything that it now simply intrigues me.

I remember being so sure my faith was the only one…the only way to live forever. I taught my children so well that one of them would go to school when she was in the first grade and tell the children there that they were going to die because they weren’t doing it right. You can imagine the phone call I received from her teacher when that child cried to her mommy. This child of mine now has a problem with feeling the need to be right all the time and feeling “less than” when she isn’t. She is a loving, searching, intelligent, spiritual person and she is very accepting of others feelings and thoughts and beliefs as well now. Was I right to teach her that way? I have no idea. Was I right to leave that way of thinking? I have no idea. Was I right to tell this child of mine that I didn’t have any idea whether that way of believing was right or not? I have no idea.

What I do know is that I am doing the best I can with what I have. I firmly believe there is a god or some higher power out there. I also believe that if that premise is truth, then he/she has to know more about us than we do. If that also holds true, it stands to reason that he/she also knows the reasons behind my life choices and the very real pain, agony and heartbreak that led me to make them. Given that “reality” (mine), I can only conclude that it will have to be enough. If I am not pleasing to that higher power and if there is a judgement someday, I can only say that I will have to face the consequences of my life on my own.

I refuse to make the presumption that I know best or better than someone else. I am, in fact, most grateful that it is not my job to decide who is good or who is bad. I have been blessed to meet some pretty amazing people through this blog and I am quite sure I will continue to be blessed in this way. I love the debate. I hate the contempt for others. I’m glad I know that I don’t have to be that way. Peace.